A Plea to the Mods

Threads that no longer serve a purpose. Read-only.
MedianUV
Cultist
21 | 4
Hello all,

I've played Median for ~3 years now.
There have been many patches in that time.
Some good, some not so good.

One commonality in every patch is painful installation -- skips normal/nightmare, straight to hell difficulty
I set aside 6 hours every time I re-install MXL. "Install Night", I call it.
Last time, I was going to show my buddy, but *knew* that I wouldn't have it working Night 1.

I'm not a completely computer-illiterate person. I'm a pharmacist, not a developer, but consider:
Most whom I show this AHK (script to message people rather than /m *) to on bnet are utterly bewildered.
You might crack a grin at how amateur this is, but I assure you, it mentally overwhelms people:

; ## Fast MSG - Input
LAlt::
InputBox, Username, Fast MSG, Account to MSG (` Key), , 200, 125
Return

; ## Fast MSG - Output
`::
send {enter}
sleep, 200
send /m *%UserName%{space}
sleep, 200
Return

It should NOT take me 6 hours every SINGLE time I want to play this otherwise wonderful game.
And what about the people who are blown away by ^^ shit script above? What chance do they have? Honestly?
If my girlfriend saw c00005, she'd call me in the room. There would be no effort to resolve the problem, whatsoever.
I have not been impressed by the staff's collective efforts to make the game more available to the lay public.

Now, if Marco/SB/Whilst/Quinirus consistently made sub-par content, I wouldn't bother asking. You can't get blood out of a turnip.
But if you all can take a 17 year old game and be a Mod of the Year contender,
I have to believe you can facilitate install further than present!
And, frankly, I'm not even going to get into PlugY/D2SE. The new core will be worth losing it.

Again, this is coming from a guy who's played the game 3 years, hopefully another 3!