Has a thread with over 10.000 views
Common Love Badge
Earned over 20 cookies
Great Supporter Badge
Donated 5 times
Common Auction Badge
Won 50 auctions
Hello!

I've worked in the gaming industry for the last 9 years. Most of that time was spent working as a producer or Product Manager on various games such as Marvel: Contest of Champions, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, Trials Fusion, Metro Last Light and many many more...

Over the years there are some important lessons I've learned about how to maximize player retention for a game while managing costs and development time.

One thing that struck me, as MXL has evolved since I started playing at the very beginning, is how many oskills there are that bring absolutely zero value to the game.

I've had situations at work where third party contractors had done partial work on assets or code and those were left in the dust as the regular production kept on going. Staffing changed, priorities were put on new and shiny things and people eventually forgot those things had even been made. When I took over the projects (that were dying at the time), dusting off those assets laid the groundwork for a revitalization of users. It brought old users back and allowed us to quickly push out features, content, etc which improved revenues, retention, allowed for a better marketing funding. This meant more new users, more organic traffic, etc.

Now if we think of oskills as essentially unfinished assets (because they do need some work that isn't necessarily numerical changes for some), you guys are sitting on a freakin' gold mine.

Let's take one oskill that we know is loved by many; Rising Dawn. It has decent damage, has its drawbacks, positioning is important, etc. But more importantly it's something new to discover for newer players, something fresh to try out for veterans and it has a DIRECT impact on the economy. It gives value to a low +skill vizjerei, a no +skill ancient repo or rare rings and amulets.